Before you go

Immigration and Visas

Welcome to Portugal: Understanding Visa Requirements

Welcome to the beautiful country of Portugal, a land rich with history, culture, and breathtaking landscapes. If you’re considering a visit, it’s crucial to familiarize yourself with the visa requirements to ensure a smooth and enjoyable journey.

Portugal, a member of the Schengen Agreement, adheres to the common visa policy for all Schengen countries. For citizens of Schengen area countries, no visa is needed; a valid passport or ID card suffices. Conversely, for non-Schengen area countries, the requirements can vary. Countries like the United States, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand enjoy visa-free travel to Portugal for stays up to 90 days within a 180-day period. However, for nationals of countries without a visa-free agreement with the Schengen area or for those planning to stay for more than 90 days, a Schengen visa application will be required.

EU, EEA and Swiss Citizens

As citizens of the European Union and European Economic Area, you will not need a visa to enter Portugal:

EU member countries

Germany, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, United Kingdom, Czech Republic, Romania and Sweden.

EEA countries

Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

US Citizens

If you are an American citizen traveling to Portugal, you do not need a visa if you plan on staying for less than 90 days. But your passport must be valid for at least six months beyond your stay.

Australian Citizens

If you are an Australian citizen visiting Portugal or any other party to the Schengen Agreement, you don’t need a visa if you stay for less than 90 days. Your passport must have at least six-month validity from the planned return date.

Other Countries

The following countries do not require a visa for visits lasting less than 90 days, but require a valid passport to enter Portugal:

Andorra, Antigua and Bermuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Bolivia, Bosnia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Korea, Macao, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Taiwan, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Other countries

For citizens of countries not previously mentioned, we recommend visiting the Embassy of Portugal in your country or checking Portugal’s Schengen Visa Application Requirements.

Related posts
Before you go


Before you go

Accessible Travel

Before you go

Travel with children

Before you go

Traveling alone

Leave a Reply